You are here

County FIPS

This is the County FIPS page list. You can click the title to browse the detail information. Alaska is not divided into counties, as most of the other U.S. states, but it is divided into boroughs. Due to the large land area of Alaska, the boroughs do not cover the entire state. The inhabited area not part of any borough is referred to as the Unorganized Borough. The Unorganized Borough has no government of its own, but is administrated by the state government. The US census bureau in cooperation with the state divided the Unorganized Borough into 11 census area. The 16 boroughs and 11 census areas are listing below.